Interview + Giveaway with Heather Davis

Hey girls!
You may, or may not know yet, but Never Cry Werewolf as released on september 1st. It is Heather Davis’ first novel and she took to the time to spot at my blog to talk about it and her experience as a writer! I’m really please dto intruce her on my blog today =)
Would you please tell us a bit about yourself?
That’s a big question. What do we know about ourselves, anyway? lol. I’m a native of the Pacific Northwest and I’ve done everything from cooking in Alaskan lodges to substitute teaching elementary. I have a day job in sales/marketing, but I live to write!

There are quite a bunch of novels about werewolves and shifters, how does your book stands out?

My book had a much earlier release date but was pushed back to this September date, which actually works great with Halloween just around the corner. Back when I wrote the book, only Blood and Chocolate (from the 1990’s) was out in the YA werewolf world. That said, no one else has written a funny, sweet werewolf book – so that makes mine standout right up front. It’s a fun, quick read and is not trying to do anything but entertain. People looking for sad, deep reading should read something else.

Would you please introduce your mains characters to us?

Shelby is an appealingly average girl, transplanted from Milwaukee to Beverly Hills, where she lives with her distracted dad and evil stepmother. Austin is British and the son of a rockstar.


Is Never Cry Werewolf a stand alone or series debut?
I hope it will be a series! I’m not done with the characters yet.

What is the most difficult part in the entire publishing progress?
Waiting for your book to come out. Oh, and writing the book. Writing is hard work. It’s a lot of long hours in the chair when you’d rather be out with your friends.
And the most exciting part?

Sending my dad his very own copy and hearing him say he’s proud of me.


Would you have any advice for young adults dreaming of being published?

Don’t be afraid to be terrible — just write without censoring yourself or criticizing yourself too much. You can always go back and revise and edit! Also, make a plan for when you will write. You will be more productive that way.

What book are you reading right now?

Creativity for Life by Eric Maisel – it’s about the artist’s personality traits and how to make the most of your creative brain.
Is there anything else you would like to add?

Just thanks for doing the interview, Cindy! I hope your readers keep up with me at
http://www.booksboysbuzz.com/ where 5 other YA authors and I blog daily and do tons of giveaways!
If you wanna know more about Heather, don’t forget to visit her website! http://www.heatherdavisbooks.com/

Now on with the giveaway!
Heather nicely offered a signed copy of her book to one lucky winner!

Here are the rules:
– You MUST be a follower
– Must write your email adress
– Comment about the interview (+1)
– Blog about my contest and link here (+5)
– +1 entry for every extra places you post about my contest!
– +1 Follow me on Twitter (@tynga)
– +10 if you put one of my buttons (and link) on your sidebar!
– The contest will last until September 18th at midnight EST.
Your book will be mailed by Heather Herself =)

Thanks for stopping by!

90 comments on “Interview + Giveaway with Heather Davis

  1. I love that Heather wanted to write a light werewolf story, because I have found that too many werewolf/shapeshifter stories to be very gritty and serious. It's a nice change, for me at least. +1 following on twitter (I'm @hlyshtbtmn)+5 blogged about the interview/giveaway on my blog: Link to GiveawaySara Msilentalibis AT yahoo DOT com

  2. I love that Heather wanted to write a light werewolf story, because I have found that too many werewolf/shapeshifter stories to be very gritty and serious. It's a nice change, for me at least. +1 following on twitter (I'm @hlyshtbtmn)+5 blogged about the interview/giveaway on my blog: Link to GiveawaySara Msilentalibis AT yahoo DOT com

  3. – I'm a follower!- bookreviewsbyjessATgmailDOTcom- Great interview! Being able to send a copy of a finished book to a parent would be a highlight that I'd like too. Never quite like holding a tangible piece of evidence of all your hard work- I included it in my Roundup post and it's on my sidebar too (+5)- +1 Facebook– +1 Twitter (I RT'd your Tweet)- +1 Follow you on Twitter (@tynga)Think I got it all. πŸ™‚

  4. – I'm a follower!- bookreviewsbyjessATgmailDOTcom- Great interview! Being able to send a copy of a finished book to a parent would be a highlight that I'd like too. Never quite like holding a tangible piece of evidence of all your hard work- I included it in my Roundup post and it's on my sidebar too (+5)- +1 Facebook– +1 Twitter (I RT'd your Tweet)- +1 Follow you on Twitter (@tynga)Think I got it all. πŸ™‚

  5. Im a new follower aaawwww if I ever write a book (highly doughtful) I would send my parents a copy as well great interview let see here are my points +1 comment on interiew+ 5 blog about this contest DeniseMadness.blogspot.com+1 link on twitter+1 followe @denisemadness I also RT it"+10 I put your botton on my sidebar (if you click on it ill head her!!!Total =18 points Im glad where moving on from vampire not that Im not a fan !!!DeniseMadnessdeniseguzman682(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. Im a new follower aaawwww if I ever write a book (highly doughtful) I would send my parents a copy as well great interview let see here are my points +1 comment on interiew+ 5 blog about this contest DeniseMadness.blogspot.com+1 link on twitter+1 followe @denisemadness I also RT it"+10 I put your botton on my sidebar (if you click on it ill head her!!!Total =18 points Im glad where moving on from vampire not that Im not a fan !!!DeniseMadnessdeniseguzman682(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. +1 I love historis about werewolfs, and this one is pretty good so I'm happy to know that probably there will be sequel!I'm sure that her dad is very happy!+10 if you put one of my buttons (and link) on your sidebarhttp://todoesfacilsi.blogspot.com/+1 Follow on Twitter (@sheeredry)+1 Retweethttp://twitter.com/Sheeredry/status/3827384083sheere.dry@gmail.com

  8. +1 I love historis about werewolfs, and this one is pretty good so I'm happy to know that probably there will be sequel!I'm sure that her dad is very happy!+10 if you put one of my buttons (and link) on your sidebarhttp://todoesfacilsi.blogspot.com/+1 Follow on Twitter (@sheeredry)+1 Retweethttp://twitter.com/Sheeredry/status/3827384083sheere.dry@gmail.com

  9. Tynga,Wonderful interview. πŸ™‚ I first learned about this book from Anna over at Anna's Book Blog – and immediately added it to my wish list. :)Thank you for the wonderful opportunity to win this book. :)Michellekweenmg at yahoo dot com

  10. Tynga,Wonderful interview. πŸ™‚ I first learned about this book from Anna over at Anna's Book Blog – and immediately added it to my wish list. :)Thank you for the wonderful opportunity to win this book. :)Michellekweenmg at yahoo dot com

  11. I have never read a werewolf story, believe it or not. But I think I would enjoy one with a sweet, funny wolf. I am adding this one to my wish list!I am already a followerzenfoxflowerATyahooDOTcom+1 left comment

  12. I have never read a werewolf story, believe it or not. But I think I would enjoy one with a sweet, funny wolf. I am adding this one to my wish list!I am already a followerzenfoxflowerATyahooDOTcom+1 left comment

  13. Mary Dzenrei57 (at) hotmail (dot) com+1 comment: I LOVED the interview, this sounds like such a good read, especially with the historical view. Also, I am a follower :)Thank you for hosting such a nice giveaway!

  14. Mary Dzenrei57 (at) hotmail (dot) com+1 comment: I LOVED the interview, this sounds like such a good read, especially with the historical view. Also, I am a follower :)Thank you for hosting such a nice giveaway!

  15. Such an awesome interview! So interesting! I so want to read this book! (+1)I now follow you.Email: joannestapley[at]googlemail[dot]comI have linked to this contest on both my blogs in my contest sections, right sidebars:http://jo-scrawls.blogspot.com/ (+5)http://onceuponabookcase.blogspot.com/ (+1)I tweeted about this contest (+1):http://twitter.com/jo_scrawls/status/3837950659 I now follow you on twitter (+1)You button with link is on both my blogs (same links as above) – right sidebars, very top, second button in the scroll boxes. (+20? – not sure)

  16. Such an awesome interview! So interesting! I so want to read this book! (+1)I now follow you.Email: joannestapley[at]googlemail[dot]comI have linked to this contest on both my blogs in my contest sections, right sidebars:http://jo-scrawls.blogspot.com/ (+5)http://onceuponabookcase.blogspot.com/ (+1)I tweeted about this contest (+1):http://twitter.com/jo_scrawls/status/3837950659 I now follow you on twitter (+1)You button with link is on both my blogs (same links as above) – right sidebars, very top, second button in the scroll boxes. (+20? – not sure)

  17. Great interview. You asked really good questions. I loved her advice to young adults dreaming of being published. You can use that in so many other careers as well.I am already a follower.I posted on the sidebar and 9/13 contest post here: http://donnasbloghome.blogspot.com/I follow on twitter.Tweeted the contest link.bacchus76 at myself dot com

  18. Great interview. You asked really good questions. I loved her advice to young adults dreaming of being published. You can use that in so many other careers as well.I am already a follower.I posted on the sidebar and 9/13 contest post here: http://donnasbloghome.blogspot.com/I follow on twitter.Tweeted the contest link.bacchus76 at myself dot com

  19. Hi :)I am already a Member of your site.I Follow you on Twitter.Great interview with Heather.Thank you for bringing NEVER CRY WEREWOLF to my attention.:)All the best,rkcharron at gmail dot comxoxo

  20. Hi :)I am already a Member of your site.I Follow you on Twitter.Great interview with Heather.Thank you for bringing NEVER CRY WEREWOLF to my attention.:)All the best,rkcharron at gmail dot comxoxo

  21. Oh I would love to read that book! Please count me in!I am a followerbianka.009AThotmailDOTcomI loved the random questions you asked her, always fun to learn more about someone.Thanks for the opportunity!

  22. Oh I would love to read that book! Please count me in!I am a followerbianka.009AThotmailDOTcomI loved the random questions you asked her, always fun to learn more about someone.Thanks for the opportunity!

  23. I am a follower. Please enter me in the drawing.Great interview. I was thrilled when she stated in the interview that this may not be a stand alone series because she is not done with the characters yet. My eyes lit up because there is not much YA werewolf stories out there so I would love to see some more. (+1)cherierj(at)yahoo(dot)com+1 I follow on Twitter-cherierj

  24. I am a follower. Please enter me in the drawing.Great interview. I was thrilled when she stated in the interview that this may not be a stand alone series because she is not done with the characters yet. My eyes lit up because there is not much YA werewolf stories out there so I would love to see some more. (+1)cherierj(at)yahoo(dot)com+1 I follow on Twitter-cherierj

  25. – Follower- email: juiceb0xx at hotmail dot com- Comment about the interview (+1)I don't think I've ever come across with a fun and light novel about werewolves, so i be sure to check it out! Also, loved that she is considering this as a series, because I always feel so sad reading stand alones, 'cause I know I won't ever see those characters again =/- +1 entry for every extra places you post about my contest!http://twitter.com/tradufromhell/status/4056419070- +1 Follow me on Twitter (@tynga)following you (@tradufromhell)Please enter me!

  26. – Follower- email: juiceb0xx at hotmail dot com- Comment about the interview (+1)I don't think I've ever come across with a fun and light novel about werewolves, so i be sure to check it out! Also, loved that she is considering this as a series, because I always feel so sad reading stand alones, 'cause I know I won't ever see those characters again =/- +1 entry for every extra places you post about my contest!http://twitter.com/tradufromhell/status/4056419070- +1 Follow me on Twitter (@tynga)following you (@tradufromhell)Please enter me!

Leave a Reply

